"Wurlitzer Melodies At The Lake"
A Special Tribute To Lake Compounce Theme Park
Lake Compounce Park History The name Lake Compounce is derived from John Compound, a Mattatuck/Tunxis Native American Chieftain. On December 2, 1684, his wife and several tribal members affixed their waxed fingertip marks to a deed that conveyed the Compound’s Lake to a group of white settlers who had migrated to central Connecticut from Massachusetts. On October 6, 1846, Samuel Botsford, an influential Bristol scientist, persuaded property owner Gad Norton, an original settler escendant, to let him conduct a series of beautiful experiments in electricity. Well publicized, the event drew thousands of spectators who witnessed the demonstration amidst the beauty of the woods and water. Although the final experiment of blowing up from shore, two huge jugs of gunpowder tied under a raft in the middle of the lake failed, it did inspire Mr. Norton to action. He put a path around the lake, set up picnic tables, allowed public swimming and rowing on the lake, and built a gazebo for lakeside band concerts. Lake Compounce had officially opened to the public as a picturesque picnic park. Producer Andy Adams thanks: Lake Compounce Theme Park Arranger Rich Olsen Consultant: Matthew Caulfield Bob Newman of RA Newman Organ Co., RI, email@example.com; Dynamic Recording, Rochester, NY Mechanical Music Digest Carousel Organ Association of America PlayRite Music Rolls Inc.;